DessertComesFirst

“For now I ask no more than the justice of eating.”-Pablo Neruda

Posted on: October 29, 2011

My family left for Israel on October 23 for two weeks to visit family.  They were going because it happens to be my Aunt’s (who lives in Israel) 40th Birthday.  SO, it is kind of a big deal, a big enough deal that it has become a sort of family/friend reunion.  Our friends and family from Ukraine came to visit her as well, so it has turned into basically one big party!  I of course could not go because of school and work, which depressed me, a lot.  But about two weeks before they left  I decided to throw caution to the wind and go as well.  So I am writing this post from my Aunts home in Jerusalem, Israel!!!!  Unfortunately I could only go for four and a half days , but I’m already a day in and am so happy I came!!!

Israel is a beautiful country with a long and crazy history.  This is a link to an interesting article/post I found about Israels and the dessert culture there :)) and this is a link to some common and favorite desserts in Israel.  I have had some of these desserts, but have never actually made any except for maybe the sponge cake or wonder cake, but I hope to one day attempt to make Baklava.

2 Responses to "“For now I ask no more than the justice of eating.”-Pablo Neruda"

Good post. Nice way to tie your current circumstances to your theme 🙂

Many of those foods sound delicious! And that was a very creative way to bring your culture and family into your post.

Leave a Reply

