DessertComesFirst

Fruit only angers my need for chocolate

Posted on: September 19, 2011

This week my mom’s cousin’s from the Ukraine are visiting and we are having a huge family dinner on Monday night.  So I decided to use this dinner as an excuse to make some yummy dessert.  For a while I have been obsessed with the Vanilla Raspberry Cake from whole foods.  The family dinner on Monday night seemed like the best excuse to try to make this cake.I first started off by looking up different recipes for Vanilla Raspberry Cake.  I found a really yummy recipe for Lemon Poppy Seed Cakes with Raspberry Curd Filling.  Because of a time constraint I cheated a little bit and ended up using an instant mix for the vanilla cake, but I made the raspberry curd filling and the lemon butter-cream frosting from scratch.  As a whole the recipe wasn’t to complicated.

Buttering the pan

add flour to the pan once buttered, so the cakes don't stick

once the pan is covered with flour it should look like this

The vanilla cake was easy to make from the mix, just follow the directions on the box 🙂
    

The raspberry curd filling wasn’t to hard either.  For the filling you need: 8 tbsp. unsalted butter, 1 pint ripe raspberries or 1 12-oz. package frozen raspberries, thawed, 5 large egg yolks, lightly beaten, 3/4 cup sugar, Pinch of salt, 2-3 tsp. fresh lemon juice, *aprox 2 tbsp flour*

What you need to do is melt the butter over a light to medium heat.

Then add the raspberries. Once you put them in, stir and mash up the raspberries for a little bit.
  
Next add the sugar, salt and lemon juice. Stir a bit more once the sugar and salt is added.
  

I recommend adding the egg yolks last.(a lesson I learned the hard way. I had to make 2 batches of the filling because I put the yolks in at the beginning and they started to cook, which is not something you want.) Before you add the eggs, don’t forget to separate the yolks and the whites, you only need the yolks for the filling.
    

This is what you don't want it to look like!

Once everything has been added keep stirring.  After approximately 10 minutes it should have begun to thicken. *When I was making it the mixture was not thickening so I added 2 tbsp of flour.  One tbsp may be enough, for some it just depends on how much it thickens or doesn’t thicken.

Once the mixture is thick enough pour it through a strainer over a bowl.  Press hard to make sure as much of the liquid as possible is being extracted.
  

Once all the liquid is extracted, let it cool.  While it cools it should thicken a bit more.

For the lemon butter-cream frsoting you need: 16 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature, 2 tbsp. finely grated lemon zest, 3 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar (I think 2 cups of sugar would be enough, my frosting came out a little to sweet), 3 tbsp. fresh lemon juice.

To start off the frosting make sure the butter is a little melted, so it will be easier to beat.  Add the lemon zest and sugar and beat until it is smooth. (the recipe I found says to beat the butter and zest first and then add the sugar, but it didn’t make much of a difference in taste or texture.) I did not end up adding the lemon juice because the lemon zest added enough flavor, but that is up to your personal tastes. When I first started the frosting I used a mixer, but it didn’t work out very well and I ended up using a food processor, which worked out much better.

Lemon Zest( just grated a lemon)

I put the butter in the microwave to speed up the melting, but i put it in for too long

Add confectioner sugar through a sifter

Once everything is made and cooled, the funny begins.  I spread the raspberry curd filling on top of the bottom layer, then put the second layer on.  I mad a little to much of the filling and decided to spread the rest of it over the top layer.  Once I finished with the filling I let the cake sit of a while so the cake could set and I would be able to frost it.  The finished product has a pink tint to it from the filling I spread over the entire cake. While it looks nice in the end, it was a major pain to spread the frosting over it.
              

I haven’t tried it yet but it looks yummy and each item separately tastes good, so hopefully my family will enjoy it!

The End 🙂

UPDATE:
The cake was a hit! Everybody loved it and it tasted really good!

The Real End 🙂

 

1 Response to "Fruit only angers my need for chocolate"

Great post! Let me know how it tastes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

